Show/Hide

Operational Hours / Staff Directory

Print
--The Community Development Department and the public counter are located in the Civic Center at 100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach.
 

Organizational Chart Thumbnail

We can be reached at:

Department Main Line: (949) 644-3200

 

(949) 718-1888 Permit Counter

(949) 644-3204 Planning and Zoning Information
(949) 644-3215 Code Enforcement

 

To Schedule an Inspection:

 

1. Call the Inspection Request Line at (949) 644-3255 or;
2. Click here to schedule an Inspection online

3. For iPermits ONLY, please log onto your online account at www.newportbeachca.gov/onlinepermitting

 

Online Information Request System: Quest
Our business hours are:
General Administration: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Counter hours: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Permit Issuance &
Plan Check Submittal
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Monday - Friday
Inspection hours: 8:00 AM to 3:30 PM / Monday - Friday
Inspectors available: 7:00 AM to 8:00 AM and 3:30 PM to 4:30 PM
Allowable Construction Hours
per NBMC, Section 10-28
7:00 AM to 6:30 PM / Monday - Friday
8:00 AM to 6:00 PM / Saturday
No Construction Work on Sundays or Holidays

Engineers  Schedule  

February 8th - February 12th

ENGINEER

MON
2-8

TUE
     2-9     

WED
2-10

THURS
2-11

FRI
2-12

Ali Naji

LBU

PC

LBU

PC

LBU

Eric Skarin

LBU

LBU

PC

Counter PM

out

Soon Cho

Counter PM

PC

LBU

PC

LBU

Ali Hekmat

out

Counter AM

Counter AM

Counter AM

Counter AM

Tonee Thai out

Counter PM

PC

LBU

Counter PM

Yousef Barar

Counter AM

LBU

Counter PM

        LBU        

out

Kenneth Huang

APC

APC

APC

APC

out

Ben E. (EMP)*

8-12

8-12

8-12

8-12

not available

Sergio Gutierrez
(Contract Geologist)
7:30-3 7:30-3 7:30-4 7:30-4 7:30-4

FIRE REVIEWS:
 
 AM- ALL REVIEWS

 

 (NO PM REVIEWS)

Susan Guzzetta
Todd Letterman
8 AM-12 PM

 

Susan Guzzetta
8 AM-12 PM

 

Susan Guzzetta
Todd Letterman
  8 AM-12 PM

 

Todd Letterman

8 AM-12 PM
 

  Not available

   

GEOTECHNICAL
Ken Bagahi

not available

not available

12-4

not available

not available

    APC = Appointment Plan Check
    AM Counter hours: 7:30 - 12:30, PM Counter hours: 12:30 - 5:30 (Friday PM Counter Hours: 12:30-4:30)
    PC, LBU = for Internal Use Only
    EMP = Electrical, Mechanical, & Plumbing Plans Examiner      

                     
Community Development Staff Phone Email
Kimberly Brandt AICP, Community Development Director 949-644-3228 kbrandt@newportbeachca.gov

 

ADMINISTRATION Phone Email
Dan Campagnolo, Systems & Administration Manager 949-644-3231 dcampagnolo@newportbeachca.gov
Jennifer Biddle, Administrative Support Specialist 949-644-3232 jbiddle@newportbeachca.gov
Ruby Garciamay, Administrative Technician 949-644-3201 rgarciamay@newportbeachca.gov
Lanny Krage, Records Specialist 949-644-3293 lkrage@newportbeachca.gov
Traci Mackinen, Administrative Technician 949-718-1865 tmackinen@newportbeachca.gov
Terresa Moritz, Management Analyst 949 644-3239 tmoritz@newportbeachca.gov
Debi Schank, Administrative Support Specialist 949-644-3284 dschank@newportbeachca.gov
Susan Yamada, Administrative Technician 949-644-3280 syamada@newportbeachca.gov

 

BUILDING Permit Technicians (Public Counter) Phone Email
Susan McCourt, Permit Counter Supervisor 949-644-3289 smccourt@newportbeachca.gov
Leslie Duarte, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3290 lduarte@newportbeachca.gov
Jana Egan, Residential Building Inspector 949-644-3216 jegan@newportbeachca.gov
Cara Eng, Permit Specialist II 949 644-3251 ceng@newportbeachca.gov
Jamie Harris, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3274 jharris@newportbeachca.gov
Judi Igasaki, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3291 jigasaki@newportbeachca.gov
Nellie Montejano, Permit Specialist, Contract 949-644-3269 nmontejano@newportbeachca.gov
Jessica Sanchez, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3287 jsanchez@newportbeachca.gov

  

building plan check  Weekly Engineer's Counter Schedule Phone Email

Seimone Jurjis,  P.E., C.B.O., Assistant Community Development Director, Chief Building Official

949-644-3282 sjurjis@newportbeachca.gov

Yousef Barar, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3278 ybarar@newportbeachca.gov

Soon Cho, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3281 scho@newportbeachca.gov

Ben Ellingson, Plans Examiner, Elect., Mech., Plumbing 

949-644-3271 bellingson@newportbeachca.gov
Ali HekmatEngineer (Contract) 949-644-3207 ahekmat@newportbeachca.gov

Samir Ghosn, P.E., Principal Engineer/Plan Check 

949-644-3277 sghosn@newportbeachca.gov
Sergio Gutierrez, P.G., Geologist (Contract) 949-644-3213 sgutierrez@newportbeachca.gov
Ken Huang, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 949-644-3285 khuang@newportbeachca.gov

Dan Kennedy, Architect, Principal Engineer/Customer Service

949-644-3279 dkennedy@newportbeachca.gov

Ali Naji, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer  

949-644-3292 anaji@newportbeachca.gov

Eric Skarin, S.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3270 eskarin@newportbeachca.gov

Tonee Thai, P.E., Sr. Civil, Engineer 

949-718-1867 tthai@newportbeachca.gov

 

building Inspectors - SEE inspector area map (pdf) Phone Email
John Burckle, Building Inspector Supervisor 949-644-3262 jburckle@newportbeachca.gov
Steve LaneBuilding Inspector (Contract) 949-644-3264 slane@newportbeachca.gov
Rick La Bare, Building Inspector II 949 644-3261 rlabare@newportbeachca.gov
Randy Neilson, Building Inspector   949 644-3260 rneilson@newportbeachca.gov
Chris Sanchez, Sr. Building Inspector  949 644-3266 csanchez@newportbeachca.gov
Paul Sobek, Building Inspector Supervisor 949 644-3268

psobek@newportbeachca.gov

Marshall Shelton, Building Inspector II 949 644-3267 mshelton@newportbeachca.gov
Don Taylor, Sr. Building Inspector 949 644-3263 dtaylor@newportbeachca.gov 
Aaron Thompson, Building Inspector (Contract) 949 644-3272 athompson@newportbeachca.gov

 

CODE ENFORCEMENT    (SEE AREA MAP ) PHONE E-MAIL

Matt Cosylion, Code Enforcement Supervisor

949-644-3217 mcosylion@newportbeachca.gov 
Cassi Palmer, Sr. Code Enforcement Officer 949-644-3220 cpalmer@newportbeachca.gov

Brian Contino, Code Enforcement Officer

949-644-3257 bcontino@newportbeachca.gov
John Murray, Code Enforcement Officer I 949-270-8137 jmurray@newportbeachca.gov
Zachary Michael, Code Enforcement Trainee 949-644-3286  zmichael@newportbeachca.gov
vacant, Code Enforcement Officer 949-270-8136

 

 

 

Planning Phone E-mail
Brenda Wisneski, Deputy Director, Community Development 949-644-3297 bwisneski@newportbeachca.gov
Patrick Alford, Planning Program Manager 949-644-3235 palford@newportbeachca.gov
James Campbell,  Principal Planner 949-644-3210  jcampbell@newportbeachca.gov
Jaime Murillo, Senior Planner 949-644-3209 jmurillo@newportbeachca.gov
Gregg Ramirez, Senior Planner 949-644-3219 gramirez@newportbeachca.gov
Makana Nova, Associate Planner 949-644-3249 mnova@newportbeachca.gov
Rosalinh Ung, Associate Planner 949-644-3208 rung@newportbeachca.gov
Ben Zdeba, Associate Planner  949-644-3253 bzdeba@newportbeachca.gov
Chelsea Crager, Assistant Planner 949-644-3227 ccrager@newportbeachca.gov 
Jason Van Patten, Assistant Planner 949-644-3234  jvanpatten@newportbeachca.gov
Melinda Whelan, Assistant Planner 949-644-3221 mwhelan@newportbeachca.gov  
David Lee, Planning Technician 949-644-3225 dlee@newportbeachca.gov

 

Real Property and Asset management PHONE E-MAIL

Lauren Whitlinger, Real Property Administrator

949-644-3236 lwooding@newportbeachca.gov 
Mellissa GordonReal Property Assistant (Contract)  949-644-3206 mgordon@newportbeachca.gov 

 

 

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer