Show/Hide
Dealing with the drought - Learn about new regulations and how they affect you.

Operational Hours / Staff Directory

Print

--The Community Development Department and the public counter are located in the Civic Center at 100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach.
 

Organizational Chart Thumbnail

We can be reached at:

Department Main Line: (949) 644-3200

 

(949) 718-1888 Permit Counter

(949) 644-3204 Planning and Zoning Information
(949) 644-3215 Code Enforcement

 

To Schedule an Inspection:

 

1. Call the Inspection Request Line at (949) 644-3255 or;
2. Click here to schedule an Inspection online

3. For iPermits ONLY, please log onto your online account at www.newportbeachca.gov/onlinepermitting

 

Online Information Request System: Quest
Our business hours are:
General Administration: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Counter hours: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Permit Issuance &
Plan Check Submittal
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Monday - Friday
Inspection hours: 8:00 AM to 3:30 PM / Monday - Friday
Inspectors available: 7:00 AM to 8:00 AM and 3:30 PM to 4:30 PM
Allowable Construction Hours
per NBMC, Section 10-28
7:00 AM to 6:30 PM / Monday - Friday
8:00 AM to 6:00 PM / Saturday
No Construction Work on Sundays or Holidays

Engineers  Schedule

 June  29- July 3

ENGINEER

MON
6-29

TUE
6-30

WED
7-1

THURS
7-2

FRI
7-3

Ali Naji

Comm

Comm

Counter PM

off

HOLIDAY

Eric Skarin

APC

APC

APC

APC 

HOLIDAY

Soon Cho

Res

Counter PM

Res

Res

HOLIDAY

Ali Hekmat

Counter AM

Counter AM

 Counter AM

Counter AM

HOLIDAY

Tonee Thai

Res

Res

Res

Res

HOLIDAY

Yousef Barar

Comm

Comm

Comm

Counter PM

HOLIDAY

Kenneth Huang

Counter PM

Res

Res

Res

HOLIDAY

Ben E. (EMP)*

8-12

8-12

8-12

8-12

not available

FIRE REVIEWS:
 
 AM- ALL REVIEWS

 

 (NO PM REVIEWS)

Susan Guzzetta
8 AM-12 PM

 

Susan Guzzetta
8 AM-12 PM

 

Susan Guzzetta
Todd Letterman
8 AM-12 PM

 

Susan Guzzetta
Todd Letterman

8 AM-12 PM
 

 

not available

Fridays

 

 

GEOTECHNICAL
Ken Bagahi

not available

not available

12-4

not available

not available

    APC = Appointment Plan Check
    AM Counter hours: 7:30 - 12:30 / PM Counter hours: 12:30 - 5:30 (Fridays PM Counter hours: 12:30-4:30)
    RES, COMM,  4,5,6 = for Internal Use Only
    EMP = Electrical, Mechanical, & Plumbing Plans Examiner

 

Community Development Staff Phone Email
Kimberly Brandt AICP, Community Development Director 949-644-3228 kbrandt@newportbeachca.gov

 

ADMINISTRATION Phone Email
Dan Campagnolo, Systems & Administration Manager 949-644-3231 dcampagnolo@newportbeachca.gov
Jennifer Biddle, Administrative Support Specialist 949-644-3232 jbiddle@newportbeachca.gov
Ruby Garciamay, Administrative Technician 949-644-3201 rgarciamay@newportbeachca.gov
Lanny Krage, Records Specialist 949-644-3293 lkrage@newportbeachca.gov
Terresa Moritz, Management Analyst 949 644-3239 tmoritz@newportbeachca.gov
Brittany Ramirez, Administrative Technician 949-718-1865 bramirez@newportbeachca.gov
Debi Schank, Administrative Support Specialist 949-644-3284 dschank@newportbeachca.gov
Susan Yamada, Administrative Technician 949-644-3280 syamada@newportbeachca.gov

 

BUILDING Permit Technicians (Public Counter) Phone Email
Susan McCourt, Permit Counter Supervisor 949-644-3289 smccourt@newportbeachca.gov
Leslie Duarte, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3290 lduarte@newportbeachca.gov
Jana Egan, Residential Building Inspector 949-644-3216 jegan@newportbeachca.gov
Cara Eng, Permit Specialist II 949 644-3251 ceng@newportbeachca.gov
Jamie Harris, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3274 jharris@newportbeachca.gov
Judi Igasaki, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3291 jigasaki@newportbeachca.gov
Nellie Montejano, Permit Specialist, Contract 949-644-3269 nmontejano@newportbeachca.gov
Jessica Sanchez, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3287 jsanchez@newportbeachca.gov

  

building plan check  Weekly Engineer's Counter Schedule Phone Email

Seimone Jurjis,  P.E., C.B.O., Chief Building Official

949-644-3282 sjurjis@newportbeachca.gov

Yousef Barar, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3278 ybarar@newportbeachca.gov

Soon Cho, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3281 scho@newportbeachca.gov

Ben Ellingson, Plans Examiner, Elect., Mech., Plumbing 

949-644-3271 bellingson@newportbeachca.gov
Ali Hekmat, Contract Engineer 949-644-3207 ahekmat@newportbeachca.gov

Samir Ghosn, P.E., Principal Engineer/Plan Check 

949-644-3277 sghosn@newportbeachca.gov
Ken Huang, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 949-644-3285 khuang@newportbeachca.gov

Dan Kennedy, Architect, Principal Engineer/Customer Service

949-644-3279 dkennedy@newportbeachca.gov

Ali Naji, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer  

949-644-3292 anaji@newportbeachca.gov

Eric Skarin, S.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3270 eskarin@newportbeachca.gov

Tonee Thai, P.E., Sr. Civil, Engineer 

949-718-1867 tthai@newportbeachca.gov

 

building Inspectors - SEE inspector area map (pdf) Phone Email
John Burckle, Building Inspector Supervisor 949-644-3262 jburckle@newportbeachca.gov
Steve LaneBuilding Inspector (Contract) 949-644-3264 slane@newportbeachca.gov
Rick La Bare, Building Inspector II 949 644-3261 rlabare@newportbeachca.gov
Randy Neilson, Building Inspector   949 644-3260 rneilson@newportbeachca.gov
Chris Sanchez, Sr. Building Inspector  949 644-3266 csanchez@newportbeachca.gov
Paul Sobek, Building Inspector Supervisor 949 644-3268

psobek@newportbeachca.gov

Marshall Shelton, Building Inspector II 949 644-3267 mshelton@newportbeachca.gov
Joseph Slouka, Building Inspector (Contract) 949 644-3272 jslouka@newportbeachca.gov
Don Taylor, Sr. Building Inspector  949-644-3263 dtaylor@newportbeachca.gov

 

CODE ENFORCEMENT    (SEE AREA MAP ) PHONE E-MAIL

Matt Cosylion, Code Enforcement Supervisor

949-644-3217 mcosylion@newportbeachca.gov 

Brian Contino, Code Enforcement Officer

949-644-3257 bcontino@newportbeachca.gov
John Murray, Code Enforcement Trainee 949-270-8137 jmurray@newportbeachca.gov
vacant, Code Enforcement Officer 949-270-8136

 

Cassi Palmer, Sr. Code Enforcement Officer

949-644-3220

cpalmer@newportbeachca.gov

 

Planning Phone E-mail
Brenda Wisneski, Deputy Director, Community Development 949-644-3297 bwisneski@newportbeachca.gov
Patrick Alford, Planning Program Manager 949-644-3235 palford@newportbeachca.gov
James Campbell,  Principal Planner 949-644-3210  jcampbell@newportbeachca.gov
Jaime Murillo, Senior Planner 949-644-3209 jmurillo@newportbeachca.gov
Gregg Ramirez, Senior Planner 949-644-3219 gramirez@newportbeachca.gov
Makana Nova, Associate Planner 949-644-3249 mnova@newportbeachca.gov
Fern Nueno, Associate Planner 949-644-3227 fnueno@newportbeachca.gov
Kay Sims, Planner (Temp) 949-644-3204 ksims@newportbeachca.gov
Rosalinh Ung, Associate Planner 949-644-3208 rung@newportbeachca.gov
Jason Van Patten, Assistant Planner 949-644-3234  jvanpatten@newportbeachca.gov
Melinda Whelan, Assistant Planner 949-644-3221 mwhelan@newportbeachca.gov  
Ben Zdeba, Assistant Planner 949-644-3253 bzdeba@newportbeachca.gov
David Lee, Planning Technician 949-644-3225 dlee@newportbeachca.gov

 

Real Property and Asset management PHONE E-MAIL

Lauren Whitlinger, Real Property Administrator

949-644-3236 lwooding@newportbeachca.gov