Parks, Beaches & Recreation Commission

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Purpose:

QUICK LINKS

A. Act in an advisory capacity to the City Council in all matters pertaining to the parks, beaches, recreation, parkways and street trees.
B. Assist in the planning of parks and recreation programs for the inhabitants of the city, promote and stimulate public interest therein, and to that end, solicit to the fullest extent possible, the cooperation of school authorities and other public and private agencies interested therein.
C. Establish policies for the acquisition, development and improvement of parks, beaches and playgrounds and for the planting, care and removal of trees and shrubs in all parks, playgrounds and streets, subject to the rights and powers of the City Council.
D. Perform such other duties as may be prescribed by ordinance not inconsistent with the provisions of the City Charter.

Committee Authorization:
City Charter, Article VII, Section 709

Frequency of Meetings:
The first Tuesday each month at 6 p.m. in the City Council Chambers unless otherwise noted.

         
Laird Hayes, Chair lhayes@newportbeachca.gov 1-28-14 6-30-15  6-30-19

Walt Howald, Vice Chair

whowald@newportbeachca.gov 6-28-13  6-27-17 6-30-21
Tom Anderson
tanderson@newportbeachca.gov 2-24-09 6-24-14 6-30-18
Ron Cole
rcole@newportbeachca.gov 6-22-10 6-24-14  6-30-18
Roy Englebrecht
renglebrecht@newportbeachca.gov 6-28-11 6-30-15 6-30-19
David Granoff
dgranoff@newportbeachca.gov  6-28-16   6-30-20
Heather Ignatin
hignatin@newportbeachca.gov 6-27-17   6-30-21
PB&R Commission & Staff Liaisons as listed below. pbrcommission@newportbeachca.gov

 

Length of Term for Members:
The seven members of the commission serve for a term of four years on a staggered basis.

STAFF LIAISONS
   
Laura Detweiler
Recreation & Senior Services Director
ldetweiler@newportbeachca.gov
Mike Pisani
Municipal Operations Director
mpisani@newportbeachca.gov
Sean Levin
Recreation Superintendent
slevin@newportbeachca.gov
Dan Sereno Landscape Supervisor dsereno@newportbeachca.gov 
Teri Craig
PB&R Secretary
tcraig@newportbeachca.gov 
Marie Lindeman Administrative Specialist mlindeman@newportbeachca.gov 


Staff Support:
Staff allocates approximately 57 hours per month to this commission. This includes staff from the Recreation & Senior Services Department and the Municipal Operations Department.

 06-30-19
 06-30-19

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer