Skip to page body Home About City Government Department & Services Residents Visitors Business Online Services
Communiyt Development 2014 Banner
The Community Development Department and the public counter are located in the Civic Center at 100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach.
 

Organizational Chart Thumbnail

We can be reached at:

Department Main Line: (949) 644-3200

 

(949) 718-1888 Permit Counter

(949) 644-3204 Planning and Zoning Information
(949) 644-3215 Code Enforcement

 

Automated  Directories:

 

(949) 644-3255 Inspection Requests or online

 

Online Information Request System: Quest
Our business hours are:
General Administration: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Counter hours: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Permit Issuance &
Plan Check Submittal
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Monday - Friday
Inspection hours: 8:00 AM to 3:30 PM / Monday - Friday
Inspectors available: 7:00 AM to 8:00 AM and 3:30 PM to 4:30 PM
Allowable Construction Hours
per NBMC, Section 10-28
7:00 AM to 6:30 PM / Monday - Friday
8:00 AM to 6:00 PM / Saturday
No Construction Work on Sundays or Holidays

Engineers Schedule:

 September  1st - 5th

ENGINEER

Mon
9-1

TUE
9-2

WED
9-3

THUrs
9-4

FRI
9-5

Ali Naji

holiday

5

6

Counter AM

off

Eric Skarin

holiday

4

Counter PM

5,6

Counter PM

Soon Cho

holiday

APC

APC

APC

off

Ali Hekmat

holiday

Counter PM

4

Counter PM

3,4,5,6

Tonee Thai

holiday

6

Counter AM

 

off

Yousef Barar

holiday

Counter AM

5

4

Counter AM

Ben E. (EMP)*

holiday

8-12*

8-12*

8-12*

not available

FIRE REVIEWS:
 
 AM- ALL REVIEWS

   
 PM- Sprinkler/Alarm
        ONLY

Susan Guzzetta
7:30-11:30 AM
(All Reviews)
-------
1:00-3:00 PM
(Sprinkler &

 Alarm ONLY) 

Susan Guzzetta
7:30-11:30 AM
(All Reviews)

-------- 

1:00-3:00 PM

(Sprinkler & 

Alarm ONLY)

Susan Guzzetta
7:30-11:30 AM
(All Reviews)

 --------

1:00 -3:00 PM
(Sprinkler &
Alarm ONLY)

Todd L.
7:30-11:30 AM 
(All Reviews)

-------- 

1:00 -3:00 PM
(Sprinkler &
Alarm ONLY)

Todd L.
7:30-11:30 AM

(All Reviews)
--------
not available 

 

GEOTECHNICAL
Ken Bagahi

not available

not available

12 - 4

not available

not available

  * Electrical, Mechanical, & Plumbing Plans Examiner (EMP) -  HOURS:  Monday - Thursday 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM 
                                                                                                      
  APC = Appointment Plan Check 
  3, 4, 5, 6  =  For Internal Use Only
 

 

Community Development Staff Phone Email
Kimberly Brandt AICP, Community Development Director 949-644-3228 kbrandt@newportbeachca.gov

 

ADMINISTRATION Phone Email
Dan Campagnolo, Systems & Administration Manager 949-644-3231 dcampagnolo@newportbeachca.gov
Marlene Burns, Administrative Support Specialist 949-644-3232 mburns@newportbeachca.gov
Ruby Garciamay, Administrative Technician 949-644-3201 rgarciamay@newportbeachca.gov
Lanny Krage, Records Specialist 949-644-3293 lkrage@newportbeachca.gov
Yuliana Lopez, Student Aide             949-644-3225              ylopez@newportbeachca.gov
Terresa Moritz, Management Analyst 949 644-3239 tmoritz@newportbeachca.gov
Brittany Ramirez, Administrative Technician 949-718-1865 bramirez@newportbeachca.gov
Debi Schank, Administrative Support Specialist 949-644-3284 dschank@newportbeachca.gov
Sandra Solis, Student Aide 949-644-3238 or 949-644-3254 ssolis@newportbeachca.gov
Matthew Webb, Student Aide 949-644-3238 or 949-644-3254 mwebb@newportbeachca.gov
Susan Yamada, Administrative Technician 949-644-3280 syamada@newportbeachca.gov

 

BUILDING Permit Technicians (Public Counter) Phone Email
Susan McCourt, Permit Counter Supervisor 949-644-3289 smccourt@newportbeachca.gov
Leslie Duarte, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3290 lduarte@newportbeachca.gov
Jana Egan, Residential Building Inspector 949-644-3216 jegan@newportbeachca.gov
Cara Eng, Permit Specialist II 949 644-3251 ceng@newportbeachca.gov
Jamie Harris, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3274 jharris@newportbeachca.gov
Judi Igasaki. Permit Specialist II 949-644-3291 jigasaki@newportbeachca.gov
Nellie Montejano, Permit Specialist, Contract 949-644-3269 nmontejano@newportbeachca.gov
Jessica Sanchez, Permit Specialist II 949-644-3287 jsanchez@newportbeachca.gov

  

building plan check  Weekly Engineer's Counter Schedule Phone Email

Seimone Jurjis,  P.E., C.B.O., Chief Building Official

949-644-3282 sjurjis@newportbeachca.gov

Yousef Barar, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3278 ybarar@newportbeachca.gov

Soon Cho, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3281 scho@newportbeachca.gov

Ben Ellingson, Plans Examiner, Elect., Mech., Plumbing 

949-644-3271 bellingson@newportbeachca.gov

Samir Ghosn, P.E., Principal Engineer/Plan Check 

949-644-3277 sghosn@newportbeachca.gov
Ken Huang, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 949-644-3285 khuang@newportbeachca.gov

Dan Kennedy, Architect, Principal Engineer/Customer

949-644-3279 dkennedy@newportbeachca.gov

Ali Naji, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer  

949-644-3292 anaji@newportbeachca.gov

Eric Skarin, S.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3270 eskarin@newportbeachca.gov

Tonee Thai, P.E., Sr. Civil, Engineer 

949-718-1867 tthai@newportbeachca.gov

 

building Inspectors - SEE inspector area map (pdf) Phone Email
Robert Barton, Building Inspector (Contract) 949-644-3261 rbarton@newportbeachca.gov
John Burckle, Building Inspector Supervisor 949-644-3262 jburckle@newportbeachca.gov
Paul LeClaire, Building Inspector 949-644-3264 pleclaire@newportbeachca.gov
Randy Neilson, Building Inspector   949-644-3260 rneilson@newportbeachca.gov
Chris Sanchez, Sr. Building Inspector  949 644-3266 csanchez@newportbeachca.gov
Paul Sobek, Building Inspector Supervisor 949-644-3268

psobek@newportbeachca.gov

Joseph Slouka, Building Inspector (Contract) 949 644-3272 jslouka@newportbeachca.gov
Don Taylor, Sr. Building Inspector  949-644-3263 dtaylor@newportbeachca.gov
Brian Walters, Building Inspector 949-644-3267

bwalters@newportbeachca.gov

 

CODE ENFORCEMENT    (SEE AREA MAP ) PHONE E-MAIL

Matt Cosylion, Code Enforcement Supervisor

949-644-3217 mcosylion@newportbeachca.gov 

Brian Contino, Code Enforcement Officer

949-644-3257 bcontino@newportbeachca.gov
Ellisa Hall, Code Enforcement Intern 949-270-8137 ehall@newportbeachca.gov
Ashlee Kendall, Code Enforcement Officer 949-270-8136

akendall@newportbeachca.gov

Cassi Palmer, Code Enforcement Officer

949-644-3220

cpalmer@newportbeachca.gov

 

Planning Phone E-mail
Brenda Wisneski, Deputy Director, Community Development 949-644-3297 bwisneski@newportbeachca.gov
Patrick Alford, Planning Program Manager 949-644-3235 palford@newportbeachca.gov
James Campbell,  Principal Planner 949-644-3210  jcampbell@newportbeachca.gov
Deborah Drasler, Planner (Contract) 949-644-3206 ddrasler@newportbeachca.gov
Jaime Murillo, Senior Planner 949-644-3209 jmurillo@newportbeachca.gov
Makana Nova, Assistant Planner 949-644-3249 mnova@newportbeachca.gov
Fern Nueno, Associate Planner 949-644-3227 fnueno@newportbeachca.gov
Gregg Ramirez, Senior Planner 949-644-3219 gramirez@newportbeachca.gov
Kay Sims, Planner (Contract) 949-644-3221    kims@newportbeachca.gov
Rosalinh Ung, Associate Planner 949-644-3208 rung@newportbeachca.gov
Jason Van Patten, Planning Technician 949-644-3234  jvanpatten@newportbeachca.gov
Melinda Whelan, Assistant Planner 949-644-3221 mwhelan@newportbeachca.gov  
Ben Zdeba, Assistant Planner 949-644-3253 bzdeba@newportbeachca.gov

 

Real Property and Asset management PHONE E-MAIL

Lauren Wooding, Real Property Administrator

949-644-3236 lwooding@newportbeachca.gov 

 

 

Last updated: 8/29/2014 4:49:24 PM