Skip to page body Home About City Government Department & Services Residents Visitors Business Online Services
Community Development
The Community Development Department and the public counter are located in the Civic Center at 100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach.
 

Organizational Chart Thumbnail

We can be reached at:

Department Main Line: (949) 644-3200

 

(949) 718-1888 Permit Counter

(949) 644-3204 Planning and Zoning Information
(949) 644-3215 Code Enforcement

 

Automated  Directories:

 

(949) 644-3255 Inspection Requests or online

 

Online Information Request System: Quest
Our business hours are:
General Administration: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Counter hours: 7:30 AM to 5:30 PM / Monday - Thursday
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Friday
Permit Issuance &
Plan Check Submittal
7:30 AM to 4:30 PM / Monday - Friday
Inspection hours: 8:00 AM to 3:30 PM / Monday - Friday
Inspectors available: 7:00 to 8:00 AM & 3:30 to 4:30 PM
Allowable Construction Hours
per NBMC, Section 10-28
7:00 AM to 6:30 PM / Monday - Friday
8:00 AM to 6:00 PM / Sat
No Construction Work on Sundays or Holidays

April  21st - April 25th

ENGINEER

Mon
4-21

TUE
4-22

WED
4-23

THUrs
4-24

FRI
4-25

Ali Naji

6

5,6

6

4

-

Eric Skarin

off

off

off

off

off

Soon Cho

Counter PM

APC

APC

APC

Counter PM

Ali Hekmat

5

Counter PM

Counter PM

Counter PM

Counter AM

Tonee Thai

Counter AM

4

Counter AM

5,6

3,4,5,6

Yousef Barar

4

Counter AM

5

Counter AM

off

Ben E. (EMP)*

8 - 12*

8 - 12*

8 - 12*

8 - 12*

not available

FIRE REVIEWS:
 
 AM- ALL REVIEWS

   
 PM- Sprinkler/Alarm
        ONLY

Susan Guzzetta
7:30-11:30 AM
(All Reviews)
-------
1:00-3:00 PM
(Sprinkler &

 Alarm ONLY) 

Susan Guzzetta
7:30-11:30 AM
(All Reviews)

-------- 

1:00 -3:00 PM
(Sprinkler &
Alarm ONLY)

Susan Guzzetta
7:30-11:30 AM
(All Reviews)

 --------

1:00 -3:00 PM
(Sprinkler &
Alarm ONLY)

Todd L.
7:30-11:30 AM 
(All Reviews)

-------- 

1:00 -3:00 PM
(Sprinkler &
Alarm ONLY)

Todd L.
7:30-11:30 AM
(All Reviews)
--------

not available 

 

GEOTECHNICAL
Ken Bagahi

not available

not available

12 - 4

not available

not available

  * Electrical, Mechanical, & Plumbing Plans Examiner (EMP) -  HOURS:  Monday - Thursday 8 AM - 12 PM 
                                                                                                      Friday -  NOT AVAILABLE
  APC = Appointment Plan Check 
  3, 4, 5, 6  =  For Internal Use Only
 

April  28th - May 1st

ENGINEER

Mon
4-28

TUE
4-29

WED
4-30

THUrs
5-01

FRI
5-02

Ali Naji

6

6

5

5

off

Eric Skarin

4

Counter PM

5

Counter PM

Counter AM

Soon Cho

APC

APC

Counter PM

APC

off

Ali Hekmat

Counter PM

5

4

6

Counter PM

Tonee Thai

5

Counter AM

Counter AM

4

off

Yousef Barar

Counter AM

4

6

Counter AM

3,4,5,6

Ben E. (EMP)*

8 - 12*

8 - 12*

8 - 12*

8 - 12*

1 - 3:30

FIRE REVIEWS:
 
 AM- ALL REVIEWS

   
 PM- Sprinkler/Alarm
        ONLY

Susan Guzzetta
7:30-11:30 AM
(All Reviews)
-------
1:00-3:00 PM
(Sprinkler &

 Alarm ONLY) 

Susan Guzzetta
7:30-11:30 AM
(All Reviews)

-------- 

 

not Available

 

Susan Guzzetta
7:30-11:30 AM
(All Reviews)

 --------

1:00 -3:00 PM
(Sprinkler &
Alarm ONLY)

Todd L.
7:30-11:30 AM 
(All Reviews)

-------- 

1:00 -3:00 PM
(Sprinkler &
Alarm ONLY)

Todd L.
7:30-11:30 AM
(All Reviews)
--------

not available 

 

GEOTECHNICAL
Ken Bagahi

not available

not available

12 - 4

not available

not available

  * Electrical, Mechanical, & Plumbing Plans Examiner (EMP) -  HOURS:  Monday - Thursday 8 AM - 12 PM 
                                                                                                      
  APC = Appointment Plan Check 
  3, 4, 5, 6  =  For Internal Use Only
 

 

Community Development Staff Phone Email
Kimberly Brandt AICP, Community Development Director 949-644-3228 kbrandt@newportbeachca.gov

 

ADMINISTRATION Phone Email
Dan Campagnolo, Systems & Administration Manager 949-644-3231 dcampagnolo@newportbeachca.gov
Terresa Moritz, Administrative Analyst 949 644-3239 tmoritz@newportbeachca.gov
Lanny Krage, Records Specialist  949-644-3293 lkrage@newportbeachca.gov
Debi Schank, Building Specialist 949-644-3284 dschank@newportbeachca.gov
Marlene Burns Administrative Assistant 949-644-3232 mburns@newportbeachca.gov
Ruby Garciamay, Department Assistant 949-644-3201 rgarciamay@newportbeachca.gov
Brittany Ramirez, Department Assistant 949-718-1865 bramirez@newportbeachca.gov
Susan Yamada, Department Assistant 949-644-3280 syamada@newportbeachca.gov

 

BUILDING Permit Technicians (Public Counter) Phone Email
Susan McCourt, Permit Counter Supervisor 949-644-3289 smccourt@newportbeachca.gov
Cara Eng, Permit Technician 949 644-3251 ceng@newportbeachca.gov
Leslie Duarte, Permit Technician 949-644-3290 lduarte@newportbeachca.gov
Jamie Harris, Permit Technician 949-644-3274 jharris@newportbeachca.gov
Judi Igasaki. Permit Technician 949-644-3291 jigasaki@newportbeachca.gov
Jessica Sanchez, Permit Technician 949-644-3287 jsanchez@newportbeachca.gov
Jana Egan, Residential Building Inspector 949-644-3216 jegan@newportbeachca.gov

  

building plan check  Weekly Engineer's Counter Schedule Phone Email

Seimone Jurjis,  P.E., C.B.O.

Chief Building Official

949-644-3282 sjurjis@newportbeachca.gov

Yousef Barar, P.E.,

 Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3278 ybarar@newportbeachca.gov

Soon Cho, P.E.,

 Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3281 scho@newportbeachca.gov

Ben Ellingson,

Plans Examiner, Elect., Mech., Plumbing 

949-644-3271 bellingson@newportbeachca.gov

Samir Ghosn,

P.E., Principal Civil Engineer, Plan Check 

949-644-3277 sghosn@newportbeachca.gov

Dan Kennedy, Architect,

Principal Civil Engineer,  Customer Service

949-644-3279 dkennedy@newportbeachca.gov

Ali Naji, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer  

949-644-3292 anaji@newportbeachca.gov

Eric Skarin, S.E., Sr. Civil Engineer 

949-644-3270 eskarin@newportbeachca.gov

Tonee Thai, P.E., Sr. Civil, Engineer 

949-718-1867 tthai@newportbeachca.gov

 

building Inspectors - SEE inspector area map (pdf) Phone Email
Robert Barton, Building Inspector (Contract) 949-644-3261 rbarton@newportbeachca.gov
John Burckle, Principal Building Inspector  949-644-3262 jburckle@newportbeachca.gov
Paul LeClaire, Building Inspector 949-644-3264 pleclaire@newportbeachca.gov
Randy Neilson, Building Inspector  949-644-3260 rneilson@newportbeachca.gov
Chris Sanchez, Building Inspector  949 644-3266 csanchez@newportbeachca.gov
Paul Sobek, Principal Building Inspector  949-644-3268

psobek@newportbeachca.gov

Joseph Slouka, Building Inspector (Contract) 949 644-3272 jslouka@newportbeachca.gov
Don Taylor, Sr. Building Inspector  949-644-3263 dtaylor@newportbeachca.gov
Brian Walters, Building Inspector (Contract) 949-644-3267

bwalters@newportbeachca.gov

 

CODE ENFORCEMENT    (SEE AREA MAP ) PHONE E-MAIL

Matt Cosylion, Code Enforcement Supervisor

949-644-3217 mcosylion@newportbeachca.gov 

Brian Contino, Code Enforcement Officer

949-644-3257 bcontino@newportbeachca.gov

Cassi Palmer, Code Enforcement Officer

949-644-3220

cpalmer@newportbeachca.gov

Ashlee Kendall , Code Enforcement Officer Trainee 949-270-8136 akendall@newportbeachca.gov
Ellisa Hall, Code Enforcement Intern 949-270-8137  ehall@newportbeachca.gov

 

Planning Phone E-mail
Brenda Wisneski, Deputy Community Dev. Director 949-644-3297 bwisneski@newportbeachca.gov
Patrick Alford, Planning Manager 949-644-3235 palford@newportbeachca.gov
James Campbell,  Principal Planner 949-644-3210  jcampbell@newportbeachca.gov
Gregg Ramirez, Senior Planner 949-644-3219 gramirez@newportbeachca.gov
Jaime Murillo, Senior Planner 949-644-3209 jmurillo@newportbeachca.gov
Fern Nueno, Associate Planner 949-644-3227 fnueno@newportbeachca.gov
Rosalinh Ung, Associate Planner 949-644-3208 rung@newportbeachca.gov
Makana Nova, Assistant Planner 949-644-3249 mnova@newportbeachca.gov
Deborah Drasler, Contract  Planner 949-644-3206 ddrasler@newportbeachca.gov
Melinda Whelan, Assistant Planner 949-644-3221 mwhelan@newportbeachca.gov
Ben Zdeba, Assistant Planner 949-644-3253 bzdeba@newportbeachca.gov
Jason Van Patten, Planning Technician 949-644-3234 jvanpatten@newportbeachca.gov

 

Real Property and Asset management PHONE E-MAIL

Lauren Wooding, Real Property Administrator

949-644-3236 lwooding@newportbeachca.gov 

 

 

Last updated: 4/24/2014 1:46:03 PM