Skip to page body Home About City Government Department & Services Residents Visitors Business Online Services
city hall

About the City Manager's Office

The City Manager's Office carries out all City policies by supervising and coordinating City departments, by preparing and presenting to the City Council the annual budget, by coordinating the preparation of City Council agendas and by addressing the strategic and policy needs of the Council, City and community. The over-arching goal of this office is to manage the affairs of the City to maximize efficiency, economy and public confidence in local government. The City Manager is hired directly by the City Council. All department heads report to the City Manager except the City Clerk and the City Attorney, both of whom report directly to the City Council.

City Manager David Kiff

City Manager Dave Kiff at City HallDave Kiff (pictured at right) was appointed as Newport Beach City Manager in September 2009.  To read about Dave's work experience and educational background, please click here. He can be reached by e-mail at dkiff@newportbeachca.gov or by telephone at 949-644-3001.

Dave writes a newsletter to Newport Beach residents and business owners that provides brief updates on City projects and programs or issues that are being addressed.  You can read the newsletters by clicking here.

In the summer of 2010, the City Council and City Manager were approached by community members with questions and concerns related to the public employee compensation issues, particularly in the City of Bell, that have been the subject of numerous news reports. Dave Kiff wrote a letter to the community to explain why that is not the situation in Newport Beach and how citizens can access and confirm the City's salary and budget information.

 
City Manager's Office Staff

Executive Assistant to the City Manager
Shirley Oborny
949-644-3001 or soborny@newportbeachca.gov  

Assistant City Manager
Stephen G. Badum, P.E.
949-644-3002 or sbadum@newportbeachca.gov

Administrative Assistant to the Assistant City Manager
Jenny Sudo
949-644-3003 or jsudo@newportbeachca.gov

Deputy City Manager/Human Resources Director
Terri L. Cassidy, J.D.
949-644-3300 or tcassidy@newportbeachca.gov

Assistant to the City Manager/Information Technology Manager
Rob Houston
949-644-3033 or rhouston@newportbeachca.gov

Assistant to the City Manager/Public Information Manager
Tara Finnigan, APR
949-644-3035 or tfinnigan@newportbeachca.gov

Public Information Specialist
Mary Locey
949-644-3031 or mlocey@newportbeachca.gov

Intern
Ruth Gyllenhammer
949-644-3028 or rgyllenhammer@newportbeachca.gov

Intern
Trevor Bell
949-644-3056 or tbell@newportbeachca.gov

The City Manager's Office is located on the second floor of Bay E at City Hall,
100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach, 92660.    
Find the City on Facebook: www.facebook.com/cityofnewportbeach
Follow the City on Twitter:   www.twitter.com/newportbeachgov


Events
12/4/2014 7:30 AM - 9:00 AM
1/22/2015 7:30 AM - 9:00 AM
2/26/2015 7:30 AM - 9:00 AM
3/26/2015 7:30 AM - 9:00 AM
4/23/2015 7:30 AM - 9:00 AM
Last updated: 5/1/2014 10:19:39 AM