General Plan Update Steering Committee

QUICK LINKS

Purpose

The Steering Committee is intended to:

A. Ensure there is sufficient public outreach and stakeholder input regarding the update to the General Plan;

B. Provide guidance to City staff regarding the preparation of a Request for Proposal for services to update the General Plan;

C. Make recommendations to City Council regarding the selection of a consultant to assist in the update of the General Plan;

D. Provide guidance to City staff and the consultant through the "Listen and Learn" process; and

E. Make other recommendations to the City Council regarding the update of the General Plan, as necessary.

Committee Authorization

Adopted by Council Resolution No. 2019-7

Amended by Council Resolution No. 2019-20 

Progress Report

The Steering Committee shaped the request for proposals (RFP) for community engagement related to a future General Plan update and directed staff to release it on March 25, 2019.The City received four qualified proposals. On May 15, the Committee conducted interviews with three of the four proposers and agreed to pursue Kearns & West further. At its May 29 meeting, the Committee provided a unanimous recommendation that the City Council adopt a professional services agreement with Kearns & West (K&W). On June 25, the City Council authorized the agreement. With the K&W team under contract, staff worked to bring the outline of the community outreach and engagement plan (Listen & Learn), as well as the branding and messaging for the efforts to the Committee for review at its September 12 and September 25 meetings. The Committee will meet again on October 16 to hear updates on the October 26 Listen & Learn launch event, as well as the General Plan diagnostic memo related to the current General Plan and how it may need to change to be consistent with the most recent State mandates. Stay tuned!

For More Information:

Frequency of Meetings
The Committee will meet the first and third Wednesdays of each month unless otherwise noted.

 Email All Committee Members

COMMITTEE MEMBERS
 EMAIL APPOINTED
Nancy Gardner, Chair  ngardner@newportbeachca.gov 02-12-2019
James Carlson  jcarlson@newportbeachca.gov 03-12-2019
Catherine O'Hara  cohara@newportbeachca.gov 03-12-2019
Ed Selich  eselich@newportbeachca.gov 02-12-2019 
Debbie Stevens  dstevens@newportbeachca.gov 02-12-2019
Larry Tucker  ltucker@newportbeachca.gov 02-12-2019 
Paul Watkins  pwatkins@newportbeachca.gov 02-12-2019
Mayor Diane Dixon, Ex Officio Member  ddixon@newportbeachca.gov  

 

STAFF LIASIONS
     
 Jim Campbell Deputy Director  jcampbell@newportbeachca.gov 949-644-3210 
 Ben Zdeba
Associate Planner bzdeba@newportbeachca.gov  949-644-3253 

 

EventDate/Time
10/16/2019 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm
10/26/2019 11:00 am - 3:00 pm