Parks, Beaches & Recreation Commission

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Purpose:

QUICK LINKS

A. Act in an advisory capacity to the City Council in all matters pertaining to the parks, beaches, recreation, parkways and street trees.
B. Assist in the planning of parks and recreation programs for the inhabitants of the city, promote and stimulate public interest therein, and to that end, solicit to the fullest extent possible, the cooperation of school authorities and other public and private agencies interested therein.
C. Establish policies for the acquisition, development and improvement of parks, beaches and playgrounds and for the planting, care and removal of trees and shrubs in all parks, playgrounds and streets, subject to the rights and powers of the City Council.
D. Perform such other duties as may be prescribed by ordinance not inconsistent with the provisions of the City Charter.

Committee Authorization:
City Charter, Article VII, Section 709

Frequency of Meetings:
The first Tuesday each month at 6 p.m. in the City Council Chambers unless otherwise noted.

         
David Granoff, Chair dgranoff@newportbeachca.gov  6-28-16 6-30-20
Heather Ignatin, Vice Chair hignatin@newportbeachca.gov 6-27-17   6-30-21
Hassan Archer
harcher@newportbeachca.gov  6-26-18   6-30-22
Diane Daruty
ddaruty@newportbeachca.gov 6-26-18   6-30-22
Laird Hayes
lhayes@newportbeachca.gov  1-28-14 6-25-19 6-30-23
Walt Howald whowald@newportbeachca.gov 6-28-13 6-27-17 6-30-21
Kate Malouf kmalouf@newportbeachca.gov  6-25-19   6-30-23
PB&R Commission & Staff Liaisons as listed below. pbrcommission@newportbeachca.gov

 

Length of Term for Members:
The seven members of the commission serve for a term of four years on a staggered basis.

STAFF LIAISONS
   
Laura Detweiler  
Recreation & Senior Services Director 
ldetweiler@newportbeachca.gov
Dave Webb
Public Works Director
dwebb@newportbeachca.gov
Sean Levin
Recreation Deputy Director
slevin@newportbeachca.gov
Micah Martin Deputy Public Works Director mmartin@newportbeachca.gov 
Kevin Pekar Parks & Landscape Superintendent kpekar@newportbeachca.gov 
Mariah Stinson
PB&R Secretary
mstinson@newportbeachca.gov 
Marie Lindeman Administrative Specialist mlindeman@newportbeachca.gov 


Staff Support:
Staff allocates approximately 57 hours per month to this commission. This includes staff from the Recreation & Senior Services Department and the Municipal Operations Department.

 06-30-19
 06-30-19

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer