Homeless Task Force

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

 QUICK LINKS

The City of Newport Beach is fortunate to have a dedicated task force of talented and experienced people who are willing to look at all options for solving the issue of homelessness for the benefit of these individuals in need, as well as the residents and the businesses of Newport Beach.

Purpose 
The duties and responsibilities of the Task Force shall be to:

  • Develop strategies to integrate all services needed to address homelessness;
  • Develop a list of community partners to assist in addressing homelessness;
  • Review temporary housing solutions;
  • Develop a metric system to monitor the reduction of the homeless population; and
  • Periodically report findings back to the City Council.

The Task Force shall include residents with an interest in working to create a vision and plan to respond to the issues of homelessness in Newport Beach, have expertise in housing, mental health services, social services, public safety, health services or education.

Committee Authorization
Established by Resolution No. 2019-25 adopted on March 26, 2019. Amended by Resolution No. 2019-42 adopted on May 14, 2019. Click here to learn more about the Homeless Task Force Committee Members.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS  Email Appointed 
Council Member Brad Avery  bavery@newportbeachca.gov 05-14-2019
Council Member Joy Brenner  joy@newportbeachca.gov 05-14-2019 
Council Member Will O'Neill  woneill@newportbeachca.gov 05-14-2019 
Helen Cameron  hcameron@newportbeachca.gov 05-14-2019
John Heffernan  jheffernan@newportbeachca.gov 05-14-2019 
Terry Moore  tmoore@newportbeachca.gov 05-14-2019 
Thomas Peterson  tpeterson@newportbeachca.gov 05-14-2019 
David Snow  dsnow@newportbeachca.gov 05-14-2019 
Cindy Voorhees   cvoorhees@newportbeachca.gov 05-14-2019 
Jean Wegener  jwegener@newportbeachca.gov 05-14-2019 

 

Length of Term for Members
Term shall expire upon completion of the purpose and responsibilities of the Task Force, but not later than December 31, 2020.

Frequency of Meetings
The Task Force is an ad hoc committee. Meetings shall be heldon the third Thursday of the month at 4 p.m. in the City Council Chambers at 100 Civic Center Drive. Sign up for e-notifications here  

STAFF LIAISONS
   
 Carol Jacobs
Assistant City Manager
cjacobs@newportbeachca.gov 
 Natalie Basmaciyan Homeless Coordinator  nbasmaciyan@newportbeachca.gov 

 

 

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer