


Recent Legislation

SUMMARY Status

SB 1228 (Lara) 2018 • Prohibits facilities that are licensed or certified by DHCS from gaining financially for referring a 

person to treatment

Signed

AB 919 (Petrie-Norris)

2019

• Establishes enforcement arm at DHCS

• Limits facilities offering housing, transport as inducement to treatment 

Signed 

SB 406 (Pan)

2019

• Requires DHCS take action against unlicensed facility disclosed as recovery residence Signed

AB 1158 (Petrie-Norris)

2021

• Require a recovery residence that contracts with a government entity or substance abuse recovery 

or treatment facility that is licensed by the government to maintain minimum insurance coverage 

levels.

Signed

SB 434 (Bates & Petrie-Norris)

2021

• Prohibits facilities from making false statements or providing false information in advertising or 

marketing

Signed

SB 541 (Bates & Petrie-Norris)

2021

• Requires substance use disorder treatment services to disclose information about its license or 

certification

Signed

AB 920 (Petrie-Norris)

2019

• Establishes licensure program for all recovery treatment programs under DHCS Vetoed

AB 77 (Petrie-Norris)

2021

• Builds on AB 920

• Establishes licensure program for all recovery treatment programs under DHCS

2 Year Bill

SB 349 (Umberg) • Establishes a client bill of rights for persons receiving treatment for a SUD and imposes 

requirements and proscribes unlawful acts relating to marketing and advertising with respect to 

SUD treatment providers. 

2 Year Bill 



Bi-Partisan Working Group on Substance Abuse Treatment 

● Stop exploitation in the recovery industry

● Establish standards for treatment 

programs and providers

● Ensure that taxpayer dollars are being 

directed to proven programs that work  



AB 1158: Insuring Safety in Recovery Settings for Consumers

Effective January 1, 2022: 

● Ensures patients and workers are made whole if harmed by a 

unscrupulous operator 

● Establishes a mechanism for consumer attorneys to go after bad 

operators 

● Allows the California Department of Insurance to do more 

regulation and investigations in the recovery industry 

Contracted Recovery Residences & Licensed Facilities > 6

● Commercial general liability, min $1M per occurrence

● Workers’ compensation and employer’s liability, min $100K

● Commercial or business automobile liability, min $1M

● Professional liability with contractual liability, min $1M per 

occurrence and $2M aggregate 

Smaller Licensed Facilities < 6 

● General Liability (Residential) 



Insurance Fraud: Investigations and Prosecution 

● Fraud in the Recovery Industry = Fastest Growing 

Insurance Fraud in California 

● CA Department of Insurance Investigations Unit - 300+ 

including law enforcement personnel 

● Recent Actions: 

○ January 2020 - Orange County District Attorney’s (OCDA) Office 

and California Department of Insurance (CDI) shut down a $3.2 

million health care fraud ring which preyed on vulnerable substance 

abuse patients in order to bilk an insurance company out of 

millions.

○ June 2020 - OCDA and CDI charged five additional defendants in a 

$60 million sober living home fraud scheme designed to traffic 

vulnerable substance abuse patients from outside California into 

treatment facilities in Orange and Riverside counties and to bilk 

insurance companies out of millions of dollars



Next Steps: Oversight and Enforcement 

● Oversight Hearings

● Letters to DHCS/DSS/District Attorneys 

● Legislation



AB 2087: Enabling Civil Enforcement Consumers & Neighbors

● Too many vulnerable patients are being 

recruited into addiction treatment 

facilities that are not properly staffed to 

meet patient needs

● Require proper training and licensing for 

employees of addiction treatment 

centers for treatment programs AND all 

employees

● Empower patients, family members, and 

our local communities to hold bad actors 

accountable through civil action—

providing attorney fees to the prevailing 

party



Letters


