Planning Commission

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

 QUICK LINKS   

 

 Please Note: All mail or written communications (including email) from the public, residents, or applicants regarding an agenda item must be submitted by 5 p.m. on the business day immediately prior to the meeting. This allows time for the Planning Commission to adequately consider the submitted correspondence.

Purpose
The Planning Commission has the following duties as established by Section 707 of the City Charter: 

A. After a public hearing thereon, recommended to the City Council the adoption, amendment or repeal of a Master Plan, or any part thereof, for the physical development of the City;
B. Exercise such control over land subdivisions as is granted to it by ordinance not inconsistent with the provisions of the Charter;
C. Exercise such functions with respect to zoning and land use as may be prescribed by ordinance not inconsistent with the provisions the Charter. 

Committee Authorization
City Charter, Article VII, Sections 706/707

 Rules of Procedures of the Planning Commission

If you have any suggestions, ideas, complaints, etc., please email the Planning Division

Frequency of Meetings
Twice per month on the Thursday preceding City Council meetings unless otherwise noticed.

 Email all Planning Commissioners (Community Development Director Seimone Jurjis is included on this email)


PLANNING COMMISSIONERS
  Appointed   Reappointed  Term Expires
Peter Zak, Chair
            949-706-8395
pzak@newportbeachca.gov  06-30-15  06-30-19
Erik Weigand, Vice Chair
           949-836-4845
eweigand@newportbeachca.gov  06-30-15  06-28-16  06-30-20
Bill Dunlap, Secretary
           949-874-4402
bdunlap@newportbeachca.gov
 07-01-16    06-30-20
Kory Kramer
           949-973-6622
kkramer@newportbeachca.gov  06-28-11  06-30-15  06-30-19
Peter Koetting
           949-640-9192
pkoetting@newportbeachca.gov   06-24-14  06-26-18  06-30-22
Lauren Kleiman
           949-872-8514
lkleiman@newportbeachca.gov   07-01-17    06-30-21
Lee Lowrey
           949-466-3361
llowrey@newportbeachca.gov   07-01-17    06-30-21

 

Length of Term for Members

The seven members of the commission serve for a term of four years

STAFF LIAISON
   
James Campbell
Deputy Community Development Director
 jcampbell@newportbeachca.gov


Staff Support
Staff allocates approximately 25 hours per month to this commission.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer