Show/Hide
All Newport Beach City facilities, including City Hall, will be closed to the public as of Wednesday, March 18, following the executive order from the Orange County Health Care Agency to slow the transmission of COVID-19 (coronavirus). City staff will continue to provide services by phone, email and through the web.

Contact Us

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Recreation & Senior Services Department 

Address: 100 Civic Center Drive, E Bay, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Hours of Operation: Monday-Thursday 7:30am-5:30pm & Friday 7:30am-4:30pm
Phone:
949-644-3151
Fax: 949-644-3155
Email: recreation@newportbeachca.gov 

Parks, Beaches and Recreation Commission

PB&R Commission meetings are held on the 1st Tuesday of each month at 6pm in the City Council Chambers at City Hall.
Email Commission Questions/Comments
Commission Members: 
David Granoff, Chair
Heather Ignatin, Vice Chair
Hassan Archer
Diane Daruty
Roy Englebrecht
Laird Hayes
Walt Howald 
   

 

Staff Directory

Recreation & Senior Services Director
Laura Detweiler 949-644-3158 ldetweiler@newportbeachca.gov
Recreation & Senior Services Deputy Director
Sean Levin     949-644-3159 slevin@newportbeachca.gov

 

Recreation Front Office Staff

Recreation Front Desk

949-644-3151

recreation@newportbeachca.gov

Administrative Support Asst:

Lisa Mandich

949-718-1861

lmandich@newportbeachca.gov  

Administrative Support Asst:

Jessica Battioli

949-644-3162

jbattioli@newportbeachca.gov  

Administrative Technician:

Sonia Villalvazo

949-718-1856

svillalvazo@newportbeachca.gov

Administrative Specialist:

Mariah Stinson

949-644-3158

mstinson@newportbeachca.gov       


Active Kids/Preschool 101

Recreation Coord:

Amanda Mahaffey

949-644-3166

amahaffey@newportbeachca.gov

Recreation Spvr:

Brason Alexander  

949-644-3150

balexander@newportbeachca.gov

Recreation Manager:

Justin Schmillen

949-644-3160

jschmillen@newportbeachca.gov

 

Aquatics/Newport Coast Community Center

Pool Line:

 

949-270-8108

 

Newport Coast Community Center:

949-270-8100

 

Recreation Coord:

Tu Phan

949-270-8103

tphan@newportbeachca.gov 

Recreation Spvr: Brian Cordeiro 949-270-8109 bcordiero@newportbeachca.gov

Recreation Manager:

Jonathon Harmon

949-644-3156

jharmon@newportbeachca.gov

 

 Marina Park Community Center/Surf Lessons

Community Center:

 

949-270-8150

Fax: 949-723-3520 

Marina Dockmaster:   

949-270-8159

 

Administrative Support Asst:

Cesar Armas

949-270-8151

carmas@newportbeachca.gov

Maintenance Worker: Al Perez 949-270-8153 aperez@newportbeachca.gov
Recreation Coord: Danny Rice  949-270-8154  drice@newportbeachca.gov 
Marketing Specialist: David Neustaedter   949-270-8157 dneustaedter@newportbeachca.gov  
Recreation Spvr: Jennifer Schulz  949-270-8155  jschulz@newportbeachca.gov

Recreation Manager:

Racquel Valdez

949-270-8157

rvaldez@newportbeachca.gov

 

 Marine Protection & Education 

Tidepools:          

949-795-2381

tidepools@newportbeachca.gov

Recreation Supervisor:

Derek Breaux

949-644-3036

dbreaux@newportbeachca.gov

 

Newport Navigator/Summer Special/Community Youth Center/Contract Instructors  

Community Youth Center (CYC):

949-644-3165

 

Sr. Recreation Leader:

949-644-3164

 

Recreation Coordinator:  Melissa Torres  949-718-1862  metorres@newportbeachca.gov 
Recreation Supervisor:

Molly Patience   

949-718-3145  

mpatience@newportbeachca.gov

Recreation Manager:

Jonathon Harmon

949-644-3156

jharmon@newportbeachca.gov 

 

Senior Services - OASIS Senior Center Staff  

Senior Services Manager: 

Celeste Jardine-Haug

949-644-3247

chaug@newportbeachca.gov  

Administrative Technician:

Josie Tran   

949-644-3245

jtran@newportbeachca.gov

Admin. Support Asst:

Carrie Calderone

949-718-1827

ccalderone@newportbeachca.gov

Facility Maintenance II: Chirs Suarez 949-718-1829

csuarez@newportbeachca.gov

Recreation Coordinator:

Anne Doughty 949-718-1826 adoughty@newportbeachca.gov 

Recreation Coordinator:

Elizabeth Arciniega

949-718-1828

earciniega@newportbeachca.gov 

Recreation Coordinator: Jena Delgado-Sette 949-718-1819

jsette@newportbeachca.gov 

Recreation Spvr:

Jennifer Sisoev

949-718-1822

jsisoev@newportbeachca.gov

Recreation Spvr:

Melissa Gleason  

949-718-1821

mgleason@newportbeachca.gov

Recreation Spvr:

Susie DiGiovanna  

949-718-1825

sdigiovanna@newportbeachca.gov

 

Special Events/Reservations/Park Patrol    

Park Patrol

 

949-795-2381

parkpatrol@newportbeachca.gov

Recreation Spvr: 

Matt Dingwall

949-644-3152

mdingwall@newportbeachca.gov

 

Youth & Adult Sports Leagues  

Recreation Coordinator Chelsea Arnett 949-718-1993 carnett@newportbeachca.gov
Recreation Spvr:  Cody Huson  949-644-3154  chuson@newportbeachca.gov

Recreation Manager:

Justin Schmillen

949-644-3160

jschmillen@newportbeachca.gov